Sunday, 13 August 2017

Wedding Bells at Butterfly Cove by Sarah Bennett

Hello! It's my stop on the blog tour for Sarah Bennett's book, WEDDING BELLS AT THE BUTTERFLY COVE. Scroll down to read the guest post, in which author tells about her characters. Also, do participate in the giveaway to win some cute goodies and an Amazon gift card. 


Characters Behaving Badly

There are mythical creatures in the writing world. I hear about them, I have friends who claim to be one of them. They exist in a parallel universe to me filled with unicorns, dragons and men who put their dirty plates straight in the dishwasher. In this universe dwells the most revered of writing beasts – the plotter.

I am not a plotter. I can’t even use my planner properly. I started this year with grand plans of a beautiful daily record full of motivational stickers, daily word counts ticked off, organised lists for controlling my social media accounts productively, exciting prompts for the next chapter. What I have is a collection of random scrawls, illegible notes for plot points that never happened, a sheet full of stickers never unpeeled and the absolute assurance that I’m not, and will never be anything other than a mad pantser.

The reason I’m a pantser, is entirely the fault of my characters. Even when I sit down with the absolute confidence that I know what’s going to happen next, they change their minds. It’s like any other kind of conversation, you can prepare for it as much as you like, but until the other person starts talking you don’t know how it’s going to go. People are full of surprises, and the same goes for characters.

For the duration of a book, and beyond when I’m writing a series, they are living breathing people who have chosen to share their story with me. And, honestly, that’s what it is like. I am the reader, just like you, I discover what happens only as each page unfolds before me. I dream as them, I work through their problems in my head. When my husband asks me what I’m thinking about, I’m wondering what’s going to happen next because I truly don’t know.

Whilst writing Wedding Bells at Butterfly Cove, it was Aaron, the hero, who gave me the most trouble. I knew him, he’d been with me a long time as a character and he was pretty straight-forward. His life was organised, and I thought he was the man with a plan. Turned out he was faking it and once I started telling his story, there was an awful lot to unwrap before he would trust me with his heart.

If you follow me on Facebook, you might remember me shrieking and cursing because Aaron just would not cooperate. Every time I tried to steer the story in a certain direction, he stubbornly refused until I had to admit defeat and let him find his own way. And, to me at least, he was worth the wait. When he sat down with those cue cards in his office and I realised what he was going to do, he made me cry and I fell head over heels in love with him.

And, that’s why I write—to fall in love with my characters and watch them fight for a happy ending. Long may my lovely, funny, flawed and generous characters continue to misbehave.

When Kiki Jackson’s marriage falls to pieces, there’s only one place that she knows she can escape to – her sister’s little guest house in Butterfly Cove.

But she’s worried that turning up on bride-to-be Mia’s doorstep, especially with her two adorable children in tow, will spoil her sister’s imminent wedding plans!

Luckily, handsome neighbour Aaron Spenser offers to share his new cottage with Kiki until she’s back on her feet. And as the wedding draws closer, Kiki realises that Butterfly Cove may be offering her little family more than just a new home…

Maybe this is where her new life begins…?

An uplifting and heartwarming read, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Rachael Lucas and Hilary Boyd

Meet the Author- SARAH BENNETT


Sarah Bennett has been reading for as long as she can remember. Raised in a family of bookworms, her love affair with books of all genres has culminated in the ultimate Happy Ever After – getting to write her own stories to share with others. 

Born and raised in a military family, she is happily married to her own Officer (who is sometimes even A Gentleman). Home is wherever he lays his hat, and life has taught them both that the best family is the one you create from friends as well as relatives. 

When not reading or writing, Sarah is a devotee of afternoon naps and sailing the high seas, but only on vessels large enough to accommodate a casino and a choice of restaurants.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment