September 16, 2016

What was I reading lately: The Lie & Just Like Me

THE LIE by C. L. Taylor
Genre: Thriller/Mystery
Publication Date: 7th June 2016
Publishers: Sourcebooks Landmark
Source: Received from Publishers (Thank You)
Rating:
Goodreads
Haunting and compelling, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, and Daughter.
Jane Hughes has a great boyfriend, a job in an animal shelter, and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She's happier than she's ever been...but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.
Five years earlier, Jane and her best friends set off on what was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime, but it rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of her friends. Ever since Jane has tried to put the past behind her and lead a normal life. But someone out there knows the truth about what happened and they won't stop until they've destroyed Jane and everything she loves.
Jane Hughes has gone on a vacation with her friends to Nepal, it was supposed to be a fun week, away from all worries. Instead, it turns out to be the most frightening chapter of her life and their decision to stay at a retreat centre situated at the top hill, becomes the worst decision. There was more than what it appeared to them, dark secrets lurking behind the walls and soon, they find themselves fighting each other and trying to find the way out from there. 

Set at the backdrops of Nepal, THE LIE is a sinister psychological thriller, that struck terror into my heart. With each page turning, my heartbeat kept raising and became frantic over what could happen next. The writing is atmospheric, it actually evokes the tension and of the danger coming next. Along with the characters, I was also trying to run away from the place as soon as possible and didn't want to spend a few seconds more on that damned place. The fear was suffocating and the suspense kept me on the edge of the seat throughout the story. The story is narrated through alternating chapters, past & present, it allows readers to see how the protagonist is haunted by the past and how much it affects her present days. It also portrays different levels and types of female friendship, I could easily relate to what Jane was going through a few times and found the author's descriptions so genuine.

To put it briefly, THE LIE is an intense dark thriller, which will haunt your thoughts for days and force you to do the security check twice before going on a vacation to an unknown place. A must-read for all thriller/mystery lovers!

 photo border_zpslabc11c2.jpg

JUST LIKE ME by NANCY J. CAVANAUGH
Genre: Middle-Grade Fiction
Publication Date: 5th April 2016
Publishers: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Source: Received from Publishers (Thank You)
Rating:
Who eats Cheetos with chopsticks?! Avery and Becca, my “Chinese Sisters,” that’s who. We’re not really sisters—we were just adopted from the same orphanage. And we’re nothing alike. They sing Chinese love songs on the bus to summer camp, and I pretend like I don’t know them.
To make everything worse, we have to journal about our time at camp so the adoption agency can do some kind of “where are they now” newsletter. I’ll tell you where I am: At Camp Little Big Woods in a cabin with five other girls who aren’t getting along, competing for a campout and losing (badly), wondering how I got here…and where I belong.
JUST LIKE ME is a middle-grade fiction, it's the story of Julia, a Chinese adopted girl, who have never been comfortable in her own skin. She detests being compared based on her Asian heritage and prefers to be treated as a normal American tweenager. Her adopted Mum insists her to go on a summer camp, along with her "Chinese sisters", hoping it would help her to accept herself as she is. The story revolves around how  a Week Long Camp helps her to find herself.

Though it's a middle-grade fiction, the message behind the story is significant. The author has effortlessly explained a valuable lesson to the teen, about accepting themselves as they are, in this book. The entire plot is narrated through a series of summer camp activities, the kids can relate to and understand easily. A few incidents helped me to recollect some of the experiences I had in school/college and I could totally understand Julia's array of thoughts. Besides the teen friendship, JUST LIKE ME also throws light upon the child adoption. It made me think, about how an adopted kid feels always. Julia always finds herself trapped in imagining "what if"s and it makes her life miserable until she accepts the truth about herself. This simple, easy-to-read story is an excellent choice for your kid's library! All in all, JUST LIKE ME is a brilliant book with a remarkable message.

What are you reading this week? Any fall recommendations? Have you read any book by C. L. Taylor? What do you think of them? 
Let's Chat!
 photo sig_zpsuzho4knp.png