Saturday, 20 August 2016

THE SUMMER ESCAPE by LILY GRAHAM


Never thought that I would like this story so much, that I really really really wish LILY GRAHAM to write a sequel to this amazing story. It's the story of a woman who travels to Crete, Greece to escape from her painful past and how her life changes afterwards.


THE SUMMER ESCAPE
Author: Lily Graham
Genre: Women's Fiction
Publication Date: May 26th 2016
Publishers: Bookouture
Rating:
It's always summer on the island of Crete.
After losing her fiance, Ria's life has been at a standstill. So nobody is more surprised than her when she makes the snap decision to run away to the Greek island of Crete, armed only with her passport. It turns out to be a brilliant idea. She soon starts working for eccentric novelist Caroline, and meets handsome vineyard owner Tom. And who couldn't be charmed by the picture perfect island of Crete, complete with sea-front tavernas and sun-drenched olive groves?
But soon there is trouble in paradise. As Ria gets to know Tom better, she unwittingly uncovers a tangled web of secrets, and a truth that someone will do anything to keep hidden. What's more Ria carries her own secret, her own sadness about her past love, and as she and Tom grow closer will this stop her from grabbing her own chance at happiness with both hands?
Sometimes running away is how you find yourself ...
A wonderful romantic read, perfect for fans of Miranda Dickinson and Lucy Diamond, about having the courage to follow your heart and fall in love again.
WHAT I LIKED:

1) The writing is breathtaking with vivid descriptions of Crete and of the miles-long vineyards, author's narration of varieties of wine and the local food will salivate your mouth and together with the plot and lovely characters, the story really comes to life. It was beautiful, loved it!

2) The storyline. A poignant, romantic story tinged with the elements of mystery. It made cry, made me smile and very happy at the end. I really liked incorporating a vineyard mystery into it, it pulls you right into the book and doesn't let you till the last page.

3) Main character's name - RIA ;) 

4) Ria and Caroline's friendship - It was delightful. It wasn't merely a boss-assistant relation, but a beautiful rapport based on mutual understanding.

5) The romance - it was obvious and predictable, indeed. However, I enjoyed reading how they overcame the past and decided to follow their heart again.

WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE:

1) The pacing of the story. It was rather slow at the beginning, I felt stuck and really wanted to progress the story further. And, once I became immersed in it, the pace became brisk and soon to an end.

THE SUMMER ESCAPE is poignant, romantic, and it's just more than a women's fiction novel. A great summer book for the fans of Patricia Sands's Love in Provence series. Recommended!
 photo sig_zpsuzho4knp.png