June 16, 2016

Review: The Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Honeybourne #1
THE LITTLE VILLAGE BAKERY
Author: Tilly Tennant
Genre: Women's Fiction, Chick-lit
Publication Date: 15th June 2016
Publishers: Bookouture
Rating:
Goodreads
Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.
Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.
Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.
But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.
A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.
Review photo Review_zps6tap6cs8.jpg
                                       
I'm accustomed to Tilly Tennant's hearty stories set in beautiful fictitious English villages, so didn't need to think twice before grabbing this cute little story via Netgalley. The cover promised me a scrumptious story, and the blurb seconded my thoughts. Cake, tea, and romance... right in my alley. Jumped in right away, and had finished a few chapters before I looked up again. Tilly Tennant has concocted a story in which the readers can completely get lost in, and make them wish to stay there as long as possible.


Millie has bought the abandoned bakery in Honeybourne and is planning to reopen it. The newcomer draws the attention of the residents of the village within hours of reach, and they are on her doorstep offering helping hands. There is Dylan, Jasmine, Rich, Spencer, Ruth, Collen, and so on and gradually these visitors become a part of her life as well.

With an adequate amount of heart-tugging as well as pleasant moments, the author has made the story really enjoyable. It left me wanting to hear more tales from Honeybourne when it was finished. I can't seriously wait to revisit them again. Admittedly, Tilly Tennant is wonderful at portraying sibling relationships. Her writing always makes you feel that special bond the characters share, and beautifully narrates their unconditional love through the incidents where they support each other through thick and thin. I really like that about her stories.

The characters are amazing, the plot is delightful, and the prose is gorgeous as always. Nevertheless, I was a tad heartbroken, when I didn't the cake and tea I was offered at first. Instead of beer and a pint, the characters should have baked and eaten more cake when they were sad or happy. It would have made them and me incredibly happy. Throughout the story, I felt the bakery was pushed to the background, and the story was filled with the other (interesting) incidents. I wanted more CAKE, that's my only gripe.

This book has also got me intrigued to know what happened back in Millrise, thus I will be visiting that place pretty soon. So why THE LITTLE VILLAGE BAKERY? It's worth visiting in this summer. That place is replete with the amazing characters who can amuse you with their petty gossips and also with their "good Samaritan" attitude.

Happy Reading!
 photo sig_zpsuzho4knp.png