October 29, 2015

Review: The Little Bookshop on the Seine by Rebecca Raisin

Once in a Lifetime: The Little Paris Collection #1
Author: Rebecca Raisin
Genre: Romance
Publication Date: October 16th, 2015
Publishers: Carina UK
Goodreads | Amazon
La Vie En Rose
Bookshop owner Sarah Smith has been offered the opportunity to exchange bookshops with her new Parisian friend for 6 months! And saying yes is a no-brainer – after all, what kind of a romantic would turn down a trip to Paris…for Christmas?
Even if it does mean leaving the irresistible Ridge Warner behind, Sarah’s sure she’s in for the holiday of a lifetime – complete with all the books she can read!
Imagining days wandering around Shakespeare & Co, munching on croissants, sipping café au laits and watching the snow fall on the Champs-Élysées Sarah boards the plane.
But will her dream of a Parisian Happily-Ever-After come true? Or will Sarah realise that the dream of a Christmas fairytale in the city of love isn’t quite as rosy in reality…
A deliciously feel-good Christmas romance perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Julia Williams

I LOVED this novel, just a glance through the first chapter and I knew this was right on my alley (Read an excerpt here). Hooked on from the beginning to the end of this gorgeous book I was. A very pleasing novel in which the author has succeeded in painting stunning images in the reader's mind with words. I loved it even more when I met Sarah Smith, who loves books. I am quite taken with Rebecca's work and planning on devouring her complete works. I was over the moon, hearing The Gingerbread Cafe trilogy is getting published as a paperback, can't wait to get my hands on them too.

Visiting the city of love was in Sarah's bucket list. When Sarah listens to her Parisian friend Sophie's predicaments, she agrees to help her by doing a Bookshop Exchange and she flies to Once Upon a Time, Paris from The Bookshop On The Corner, Ashford. But, running a bookshop in the city was not easy as Sarah expected; She is missing Ridge and there are hectic schedules, thefts, staff's strange demeanor, no reading time and the profit is also down. She barely manages to step out of the bookshop and when she does, it is only to the Post office or the bank. Will her dream come true? Can she enjoy her Christmas in the city of love?

A quick research on Goodreads taught me that Rebecca Raisin has never parted ways with her characters. Sarah Smith, the protagonist in this novel is familiar to all her readers. She appears in Rebecca's previous works and she has also written a separate novel on Sarah and Ridge's love story. But, I didn't know her or any other characters from Ashford, it's the first time reading Rebecca Raisin's novel. Rebecca leaves hints here and there, it was easy for me to connect everything and guess the previous story, which made the reading quite easier and enjoyable.

Sarah is a bibliophile, she hearts Romance novels. Each time, Rebecca described Sarah's perpetual relationship with books, she has done a wonderful job at putting a reader's true emotions on paper. I was lost among her character's world. I didn't wish to be disturbed when I sat down with the book. It's an engrossing novel. The story developed gradually in an interesting manner and is well paced. It held my attention till the last word.

'The Little Bookshop on the Seine' has a beautiful message, The true love always finds a way! This novel throws some twists also at the end, which are really good ones and it can take you on a trip to Paris, the city of Love. And I think, I have found the Protagonist of the next book in the series and already anxious to know more about her peculiar habits.

The book does not have much Christmas themes in it. Only two or three chapters deal with the Christmas settings, decorations, party and so on. Still, it can be considered as a Christmas novel as the story will inspire happiness, hope and make you believe in the magic of the Festive Season. The story reminds us to embrace the season of waiting, instead of enduring it.  The Little Bookshop on the Seine is a beautiful, uplifting book with endearing characters, vivid descriptions and promises a virtual tour of the City of Love. Highly recommended!

My Rating: 4.5/5
Happy Reading!